Attending a Korean Concert Part 1: Tickets

If you have been reading around this blog, you’d know that the last time I visited Korea, it was for a concert.

I attended Day6’s Dream Concert in Seoul, for both days.

NOTICE: If you need a quick answer, please DM me on twitter @jaegongju

taken from lstaralmira's IG

taken from lstaralmira’s IG

It’s actually the first time I flew out of the country especially for a concert. But I badly wanted to watch Day6 live, and it was an opportunity that presented itself to me. I was originally planning to fly to Korea for my 25th birthday in March (perfect timing for the band’s comeback), but I had a financial crisis in January, so I had to postpone my dream trip.

Sometime in April, I recovered partially, and then the band announced a concert at the end of May. I knew I had to go. I had to make my dream trip happen, even for just a short time. Long story short, I made preparations for my trip, and researched on how to get into that concert hall flawlessly.

First things first, who is Day6 and why do I badly want to see them?

Day6 is a band signed under JYP Entertainment and StudioJ, debuted 2015 September 6, with Congratulations. They made a comeback on 2015 March 30 with 놓아 놓아 놓아. They’re technically the first purely band concept of JYPE, and therefore, their marketing is relatively different. They have more experience in street buskingclubs around Hongdae, music festivals in Korea, and radio guesting, rather than TV broadcasts such as televised music shows or variety programs. They are not very widely known. That’s also one of the reasons why I wanted to go to their concert.

So, moving on. The most important thing you need for a concert is the TICKET. After the ticket, you’d be able to think about other matters such as directions to the venue, what to bring, what to expect – how, basically, to prepare for the big day. I read so many important points from PinkFashionNinja and I will share them with you with a few updated points, and those applicable to a rookie group like Day6.

Ticket Selling

One thing to keep in mind is that purchasing tickets to a Korean concert is very competitive. If you’re into the KPop music scene, you would have probably read concert tickets being sold out in under 5 minutes. Sometimes, even under 3 minutes. One reason for that is the high popularity of the group, like Big Bang, or TVXQ!, or Super Junior. They are seniors in the industry, and they’re so popular that their concert tickets – even if for two or more days – may sell out in under 2 minutes. Another reason is the fast internet connection in Korea. Almost all ticket selling happens online, and you have to beat an average speed of 29.0Mbps – which, by the way, tops the global platform.

average mbps

When I attempted to purchase tickets for Day6’s concert, I was able to get decent sequence numbers but they sell out too fast that by the time I was about to go for payment, the sequence number was already taken. So, is my connection fast enough to even go to payment? Not really. One, Day6 is a rookie group that doesn’t commonly appear on TV – compared to other rookie groups. They are not yet that popular. Two, I had problems in the shipment option and payment, so I wasn’t able to proceed. Had I not have those problems, I would have gotten that sequence number.

And so, here’s my take on ticket purchase. Other people might advise not to try and buy tickets during the selling date. If the profile is like Day6’s, you can attempt to. I almost got my ticket on ticket selling. But you have to accept the fact that you can never beat those who are in Korea when it comes to the best seat or sequence number.

English or Korean Site. The ticketing for Day6 was through Yes24. Before ticketing, I did my research on Yes24. This ticketing website has English and Korean sites. It was a general suggestion to use the Korean site because of stability. So I registered and even practiced booking tickets using another concert. A few days before ticket selling, JYPE announced that an English site is available for international fans. I was too proud to use that because I can read basic Korean and I can get through the website seamlessly – I practiced and all! HAHA. That was where things got haywire. During ticketing, the Korean website asked for a Korean address, because they will ship the ticket to that address. The English website, on the other hand, offers pick up onsite on the day of the concert. I realized belatedly that the reason the English site was opened was exactly for that purpose.

TIP: If the agency offers the English website of ticketing, use that. The site is English for the use of non-Koreans, and they give flexibility which is not available to Koreans. Unless you also live in Korea, for which you won’t really read anything new here. 🙂

Just a few things to remember:

Sequence number – There usually are two options in concerts: Sequence Number and Seat Number. Sequence Number is used for the standing zone, and this means your queue number, or how early or late you can get in. The lower the sequence number, the earlier the entry, the closer to the stage, the more chances of Hi-Touch (if your idols do this thing). 🙂 Seat Number is obviously your seat plan.

Ticket Price – it’s normal for Korean concert tickets to have just one price point. At Day6‘s Dream Concert, the standing zones on the first floor has the same price with the Genie (seated) zone on the second floor.

So now we will discuss the alternatives to buying tickets.

Ticket Re-selling. Bottom line, I wasn’t able to get tickets on ticketing day. But right after the first hour of ticketing, a number of twitter users are re-selling tickets. They bought tickets during the hour, and are selling these at sky-rocket prices for desperate souls. This is illegal, of course. But it’s not uncommon in the Korean music scene, or I bet any music scene for that matter. In any case, these re-sellers offer low sequence numbers or good seats. It’s up to you if you want to buy from them. I’ve definitely heard of scams. However, I bought mine from a re-seller, who sold it to me the same price as Yes24. This option takes a lot of risk and money, but if you get a good deal, the offer usually has great perks.

Waiting for cancelled tickets. Online purchase usually requires credit card for immediate confirmation. But you can cancel this anytime until 24 hours before the concert date, with varying cancellation fees. The nearer the concert date, the higher the cancellation fee. You can wait those out, but since you can cancel them anytime, this would require you to be on the look-out 24/7. Another option for payment is through bank deposit. Locals usually use this option, because they can hold onto the tickets until the next day. To confirm the ticket, you need to wire the money until 12mn of the next day, Korean Standard Time (KST) For example, you bought the ticket on April 25, 2016. You can wait until April 27, 2016, 12:00am KST before the ticket gets cancelled. It’s easier to be on the look-out because there’s a fixed time. But you also need to be fast. I saw a very low sequence number just by waiting out, and my friend got hers through this option, too. I got my second day ticket through this option. Day6’s Dream Concert sold out in 5 minutes, but after the cancellation period, a number of seats opened up.

Other portals. Day6 Live in Concert Dream was sold through Yes24. But a few days (or weeks) before the concert, my friend saw that they also ticketed through Interpark. They opened Zone A here too, which was the closest to the stage. It was never announced on the official Twitter of Day6, and I already had a sure ticket for Day2 (at Zone B) so I didn’t bother getting from them. But on concert date, there was an exclusive line for Interpark reserved tickets. I regretted that so much. LOL Maybe the Interpark ticket was there from the beginning, maybe they opened later on, but this is another option. Lesson learned, check some other legit ticketing sites!

Onsite Ticketing. If you can’t make up your mind whether to attend or not, tickets may still be available on site on concert day. Granted, these aren’t the best sequence number or seat number, you’ll still be able to go in. Just look for the ticket box and you’ll be set. They usually open about two to three hours before the concert. If the artists are popular, prepare for long lines. If not so much, just be there before the line to enter begins.

That’s it for part 1! Next part will talk about what to prepare, and what to expect on the concert day, as well as a review on Yes24 Live Hall! See you!

sign

6 thoughts on “Attending a Korean Concert Part 1: Tickets

  1. Pingback: Attending a Korean Concert II: Preps | My Little Heaven on Earth

  2. Hello! i want to watch coldplay’s concert in seoul next year and i tried to get a ticket at yes24 and interpark yesterday but the tickets were soldout in just a minute!i read your blog and learned about cancelled tickets and im hoping that i could get some.i badly want that concert huhu.

    • Hey Kayel! Just saw your comment and hope you got a ticket for Coldplay. If you haven’t gotten yet, you should try looking for tickets in Twitter and Instagram. Some people announce there. My friend’s coming with me to the concert thanks to Twitter~ Medyo deliks but we found someone who seemed legit and took the risk!

      • Hi Nicole~ Thank you for this reply. Actually, I got my re-seller tickets on twitter too, and made friends from it. HAHA. How was the price though? I know some re-sellers really put a huge price tag especially for desperate souls.

        Jae

  3. Pingback: SOUTH KOREA 2016: Travel Tips | My Little Heaven on Earth

Your 2 cents?

