Applying for South Korean Tourist Visa (Philippine Passport)

Since I got my second South Korean Tourist Visa, I will share with you guys my tips and experiences in applying, including the details of what we submitted.

passport final

The first time I applied was only for myself – hence, I only needed to prepare my documents.

The second time I applied, I’m applying for myself and my sister. Why for my sister? I will be the one to support her; hence I needed to prepare documents beyond what were required of me.

Since the instructions for submitting documents for an employee are already enumerated here, and countless pages have shared as well (my favourite being this site – not just for the dense information, but for the writing style as well), I will just share the requirements I submitted as an employee supporting a student, and share as well the documents my sister submitted. This will be for application done on August 13, 2015

What did I submit for myself?

Basic:

  • Application Form
  • Passport sized colored picture – 1 pc
  • Passport (expiring in January 2018)
  • Photocopy of Passport Bio Page
  • Photocopy of Visa with arrival stamp to Japan (2014)
  • Original certificate of employment – included landline of HR, email of the supervisor who is in charge of employee verification, my hire date, position and compensation
  • Original Personal Bank Certificate – BPI included only the account type and current balance
  • Original Bank Statement for May, June and July
  • Certified true copy of my passbook – I photocopied all pages including the back of the cover which has the opening date. I had these stamped and signed by the manager of BPI from where I opened my account.

Additional:

  • Photocopy of Visa with arrival stamp to Korea (2013) – not required, but I submitted anyway
  • Photocopy of Visa with arrival stamp to Japan (2014)
  • Photocopy of NSO Birth certificate – to prove my relationship with my sister
  • Photocopy of ITR – not required for those who have travelled to Korea in the last five years but I submitted anyway as reference since this is a requirement for my sister

 

What did I submit for my sister?

Her basic documents:

  • Application Form
  • Passport sized colored picture – 1 pc
  • Passport (expiring in January 2018)
  • Photocopy of Passport Bio Page
  • Original school certificate – her school certificate indicates that she’s enrolled for the current semester (June to October 2015).
  • Photocopy of school ID – back to back copy
  • Photocopy of NSO birth certificate

My supporting documents:

  • Photocopy of my birth certificate
  • Photocopy of my Certificate of Employment – included landline of HR, email of the supervisor who is in charge of employee verification, my hire date, position and compensation
  • Original Personal Bank Certificate – BPI included only the account type and current balance
  • Photocopy of Bank Statement for May, June and July
  • Certified true copy of my passbook – I photocopied all pages including the back of the cover which has the opening date. I had these stamped and signed by the manager of BPI from where I opened my account.
  • Photocopy of my ITR

Effective September 1, 2015 please use the new application form found here. It’s more detailed and it will probably take longer to complete.

After doing research, I have encountered travellers who had the same profile as me: employee who will travel with a sibling who’s a student. They prepared an affidavit of support. I did too, but when I was lodging it the consul returned the Affidavit of Support, and the Marriage Certificate of our parents. She asked what our relationship was, and she asked if I have my birth certificate. I told her that the affidavit was prepared as document to prove that I will support my sister. She said that she needs my birth certificate to prove our relationship.

That was why I had to run to Market! Market! And had the document printed out. Thank goodness I have it stored in my 201 file.

How to submit?

You can lodge your documents on the following schedule:

 8:30 am to 11:00 am  –  Visa Application

This is relatively the easiest. You can submit your documents through travel agencies and pay a fee, or you can submit it directly at the Korean Embassy (directions on how to go there here) for free, if you’re applying for a Single Entry tourist visa.

Upon arrival at the embassy, you have to surrender an ID, go through bag check, and enter the small building at the left. Water bottles are not allowed. You will have to register at the table near the door. They will also check your documents. Since I already have a used OECD visa, and previous travel to Korea, I could have submitted my document for a 3-day processing. But I was supporting my sister so I decided to submit our documents together for a 5-day processing.

They will give you a number after you sign the registration. Wait for your number to be called, walk up to your designated window, and submit your documents. Make sure you’re given the claim slip. Check the date when you can claim your passport.

If you don’t have any problems in lodging your application, this should take probably less than a minute. Yeah. That quick.

How to claim?

Follow the schedule below:

 1:30 pm to 4:00 pm    –  Releasing of Passports

You will need this claim slip to get the passport. If you’re claiming passports for other people, no need for authorization letter – just the claim slip will suffice. No claim slip, no passport.

 

And that’s it! Let me know if you have questions in the comments, and I’ll try to answer them best from what I have experienced. Applying for both myself and my sister had been tricky, but the right kind of research and preparation – and probably an assistant in the office – helped me acquire these visas. Hopefully, next year, I can finally get the multiple entry, though. ‘Til next time!

sign

7 thoughts on “Applying for South Korean Tourist Visa (Philippine Passport)

  1. Hi; Great blog you have here. Very Informative. I am also travelling to Korea with my sister this September 2016 but she already graduated last year and just got a job last Feb 2016. This will be our first time travelling to Korea and although my sister has a job I will be the one funding our trip. What docs do I need to submit to the embassy then to process the visa application? Thank you. 🙂

    • Hi Em! Thanks for dropping by!

      I think it will be confusing for the embassy if you do it that way, because your sister already has a job. Her profile when she applies should be EMPLOYED – because she no longer qualifies as a student. You can still fund your trip, but you don’t need to put that in paper. 🙂

      Jae

  2. Hi Jae! Thank you for this post! It helped me a lot 🙂
    I am currently preparing for our documents for my sister and I. Re the “Who will pay for your travel-related expenses?” for my sister’s application (student), should I put “Parents” or “Sister” ? And should I fill up the funding details below it? (name of person, relationship, type of support, contact details) Thank you!!

    • Hello Monica, first off, are you the one sponsoring your sister? If you are, then you can write “Sister” and fill out the details below. Make sure you submit details of your finances together with her application.

      Let me know how it goes!
      Jae

  3. Hi! I have a concern regarding my status? Since I graduated in 2015 and had my internship in 2016 (ended April 2016). So basically I am not a student anymore, but I am not employed either. My parents will be the one supporting me financially in this trip. Do you have any suggestion how I should proceed with my application? Thank you!

    • Hey there! To be honest, this is a bit tricky since the time you have graduated and now are quite a period already. You can still try the student way, and submit your documents as a student. You can probably use your diploma as proof you have recently graduated.

      But this is only a suggestion. It’s still best to try and contact the embassy and ask for their advice. They can give you the most reliable information.

      Let me know how it goes! 🙂

      Jae

  4. Pingback: UK: Multiple Tourist Visa (With Invitation) | My Little Heaven on Earth

Your 2 cents?

