All Souls’ Day

“The day we remember our dearly departed through candles, flowers, and prayers.”

lstaralmira

It’s suddenly a long weekend for me; four days off work. While i spent two of these lounging around the house in the morning and visiting the cemetery at night, I also realized I should spend the rest to reminisce my past loves. And no, I don’t mean my past loves, but those things that I used to love. Things that I am engrossed in that I immerse myself into and forget about the reality of life.
And believe me, I mean this in a good way.

Photography. I used to blog for my photos, and stories – fiction and real life. I take pictures because I want to write about these photos. And I thought, while I try to forget about work, why not remember how to write?

lstaralmira

For as long as I can remember, every 1st and 2nd of November, my parents would light up candles at the foot of our Altar and pray for our relatives who have passed. The lights used to linger in my dreams, and I wake up at the dancing candle lights.

This year was no different, and I don’t think it will be different next year, or the years after that. I just realized I want to immortalize that tradition which I am sure a lot of families in the Philippines practice.

“May all the holy souls in Purgatory rest in peace. Amen.”

All photos are owned by Lstaralmira.

One thought on “All Souls’ Day

Your 2 cents?

