Review: Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

I bought this one as a souvenir from Singapore, since I can’t find it anywhere ere in the Philippines. In Kinokuniya (the bookstore), it was classified under the young adult reading section. I wonder if I’m still part of that. J I helplessly wanted to have a copy of this book since I saw the trailer for the movie. Anyway, I bought it for my sister as well since she wants to do a review of it for school.

This review contains spoilers. Read at your own risk.

I really didn’t like the way Naomi’s character was portrayed as.  She was already 16 but I think her personality was a little bit immature for her age. I couldn’t quite put her amnesia as the reason for her immaturity because I have no idea if amnesia also changes the brain maturity of a person, if you know what I mean. Gabrielle Zevin made a totally agreeable trend of girls at 16 wants a boyfriend with an oh-so-mysterious past. I knew I did when I was 16. But being 19, my boyfriend of choice will be Will. Like a lot of reviewers have said, Will brings about the real Naomi.

Naomi’s personality was very weak. Often taking big things lightly. I nearly approved of her choice of forgetting about the past like what James does, except that they have different pasts. She needed to remember her past because that is what makes her who she’s supposed to be at present. James however has to forget his past because it is destroying him as a person.

I think Will needed more exposure in the book! He was only considered as your lead character in the last part and it wasn’t at par with the amount of James’s! I was frustrated that even if Naomi had her memory back she still didn’t acknowledge the fact that she was in love with Will. I felt pity for Will but praised his determination to wait until Naomi gets the memory back herself. It must have been painful for him. Too painful, I was crying at the part where he got sick.

On to the structure of the book, most of the parts in the ‘I am’ part were draggy, but it took off quickly at the part where James and Naomi separated. I was like, “Huh?” the author provided no more elaboration on that part which surprised me (thank goodness because I was getting sick of James!). I was painfully eager to finish the book already to know what happens in the end.

I’m going to make a rather biased rating here because I’m not at the age where I’m the target reader of the book. I have to preach my sister well after she has read it because I don’t want her to think Naomi’s choices are always right (books tend to teach us a lot of things but when you get older and read books for the younger generation, you have a rather mature thinking that says things aren’t exactly done that way). I’ll give the book a five out of ten rating. Five points for the cute story and for the distinct characteristics he gave the boys, with different sort of love to offer the lead. Five deducted because I think I’m too mature for this book. 😛

One thought on “Review: Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Review: Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac « Pseudo Ai -- Topsy.com

Your 2 cents?

